PLEASE CALL FOR AN APPOINTMENT WHEN APPLYING FOR YOUR LICENSE (715-339-5130 or 715-339-5132)
All applicants must present:
A photo ID
A certified birth certificates
Copy of divorce / annulment decree, certified divorce / annulment certificate, or death certificate from the previous marriage
Proof of residency including name of municipality and county
Date and location of ceremony (including county and municipality)
Officiant name, address and phone number or email address
Social Security Number for both persons. it existing
Both applicants need to sign the application and license in presence of the County Clerk or Deputy County Clerk. Office hours for obtaining a marriage license are Monday - Thursday, 8:00 a.m. - 4: 30 p.m. and Friday 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
The following Court Commissioners are authorized to perform marriages. Once a license is issued any judge, ordained clergy or court commissioner may perform the ceremony.
Fees and Waiting Period
The fee for a license is $75. A three day waiting period is required by the law. The waiting period may be waived by the County Clerk for a good cause. A waiver fee of $5 will be charged. The license is valid for 60 days from the date of issuance and the marriage must be performed within that period.
Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry. If a person is between the ages of 16 years and 18 years the license will be issued only with the written consent of parents, guardian or custodian. Consent forms are available in our office.
Application can be made in any county in Wisconsin. The ceremoney can be performed in any county in Wisconsin.
If either party has been divorced, it must be at least six months after the granting of the Judgment of Divorce before he or she may remarry regardless of where the divorce took place.